Mad River Malecite (fiberglass) refurbish. Zero experience.

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by PennDude, Aug 7, 2018.

1. PennDude

PennDude New Member

I picked up a mid 70s Malecite for cheap and just started sanding it down and prepping for fiberglass repairs.

I have a few questions as far as fiberglass repairs go, as I have zero experience with fiberglass.

First, the bow and keel both have damage on their edges. I can't access these areas from the inside of the boat. Not sure if this is a problem. I'd planned on two layers of 4 ounce fiberglass fabric on these areas. Will the thin edge cause wrinkles? I'm not quite sure what shapes I should be cutting my patches for these areas.

Second, there's a troublesome spot on the side of the boat where there has been some sort of previous repair . This spot is indented slightly and looks a little warped. I'd like to straighten this out without using a thick coat of body filler but I'm not sure how to do that. I'd planned on grinding the old patch out but I'm not sure how large of a hole is too large to patch. I've watched a lot of fiberglass tutorials and can't find specific answers to these issues. I've included a picture album for reference. Thanks for any help or insight you can provide.

Pictures of the boat:
    Imgur https://imgur.com/a/QQQfEwi

2. JamesG123

JamesG123 Senior Member

The indentation looks minor and would be more work than its worth to fix. But if you insist, grinding down to the glass and using lightweight bondo should be fine. Is there something on the inside that caused it or was it from an impact?