Raft / Art Project by Novice!

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by sarawales, Mar 1, 2007.

1. sarawales

sarawales Artist Adrift

Hi there.
    I'm new to the forum and new to raft-building. I'm an artist based in Wales, UK, and I'm making a raft as an artwork for an exhibition in 5 weeks. Yikes!The piece is about climate change and is made from recycled materials (or as much as is possible)
    The raft is planned to be 3metres wide by 6 metres long. I don't know what to make it out of so that it's flotation is strong enough to support everything that will be on it, which is the following:
    A cabin made from a 3x2inch timber frame, walled with plywood, and roofed with corrugated steel and plastic. Its dimensions are 180cm x 180cm x 140 height rising to 210cm at the front. Inside it will be a bed, table, chair, shelves, cooker etc.
    On the front of the raft will be a large pile of plastic, and on the back a bench and a 'garden' made from los of plastic flowers (I know - it sounds a bit wierd, it's art . Occassionally a person may have to go on it.
    I would really appreciate any advice about how i should make the raft. I have done some internet research and understand that there are several possibilities but I need to know it's a sure thing because when it get's put in the water it has to float first time, and stay afloat for 30 days. It will be lifted and lowered into the water by a hoist so it also needs to be strong anough to withstand that. What design should it be? What materials should I use? Please help! :) Sara, Wales

1 person likes this.
  2. grob

grob www.windknife.com