questions from an hobby boat designer

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by gunship, Dec 21, 2009.

1. gunship

gunship Senior Member

hello. im a 17 year old student, and i like to design boats, purley for hobby purposes, been doing it since before i could write - prbably something my naval architect grandpah got me to do.

so, now that my designs take a more serious approach, i have a few questions about the boat designing stuff. i have some questions of the less obvious things that you doesent think of untill you're drawing it with a ruler...

first: what height over deck do you usually have the boom on? i suspect around 160-170cm? (boom is not over a cabin, just plain deck)

what width is the (for boats) usual space for walking 'paths' for say a midship corridor?

how secure are windows approx 40x60cm?

what freeboard is required for say crossing the atlantic?

2. yipster

yipster designer

and many more questions are discussed on this here forum and you can use the search button above without using google
    give delftship a good try for drawing and have a look in the free database to see other and compare your designs

3. alan white

alan white Senior Member

There are a few considerations for boom height. "As high as you must" on bigger boats with potentially lethal boom weights, meaning above your head if possible, especially at the boom's end, and in smaller boats with less lethal booms, high enough to duck comfortably. Ideally, for performance, the boom would sweep the deck, but we can't have that. The question of boom height is, therefore, entirely a matter of human ergonomics.
    The space between seats in a cockpit can be narrower if shallower, but deep aisles need to be wider to allow standing when heeled without interference. A comfortable width is 2 ft., but there are no hard and fast rules.

4. gunship

gunship Senior Member

thanks for the answers.