share some of the experience and resource learning boat design

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by en360, Nov 20, 2010.

1. en360

en360 Junior Member

Hello everyone, I would like to share some of the experience and resource that helped me in my yacht design learning process. After I graduated from university, I worked in a yacht design company. My major was the ship building and design which is quite different with yacht, so I have to work hard by myself for the yacht.
    Books
    Books are essential tool for the learning, I brought the books from amozon, there are some second hand books but in very good condition.
    Principles of Yacht Design Larsson, Lars and Rolf E. Eliasson. Principles of Yacht Design New York, NY: McGraw-Hill, 2000. ASIN: B000OG021W.
    The Elements of Boat Strength: For Builders, Designers, and Owners by: Dave Gerr. Hard Cover, 368 pages, richly illustrated with examples, formulas, tables, charts, drawings, and photos. Publisher: International Marine Publishing Company, Division of McGraw-Hill Companies
    MARINE COMPOSITES by Eric Greene, free download from www.marinecomposites.com.
    Fibreglass Boats: Construction, gel coat, stressing, blistering, repair, maintenance by: Hugo du Plessis Adlard Coles; 5 edition (August 15, 2010)
    Boat Mechanical Systems Handbook: How to Design, Install, and Recognize Proper Systems in Boats By: Dave Gerr International Marine/Ragged Mountain Press; 1 edition (December 22, 2008)
    The Nature of Boats By: Dave Gerr, The good book for boat Lover.
    Boatowner's Mechanical and Electrical Manual: How to Maintain, Repair, and Improve Your Boat's Essential Systems by Nigel Calder International Marine/Ragged Mountain Press; 3 edition (May 31, 2005)
    Powerboater's Guide to Electrical Systems, Second Edition by: Edwin Sherman International Marine/Ragged Mountain Press; 2 edition (July 23, 2007)