Werzko 4.5 - 15' ply stitch-n-glue sail dinghy

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by Aharon, May 9, 2011.

1. Aharon

Aharon Junior Member

I am studying the plans for this 15' sail dinghy before I begin cutting the parts.
    This will be the first boat I build, and both I and my son want to learn the fine art of sailing. I have some questions that I hope to see answered here.

I have already found a supplier of marine-grade okume plywood here, but he currently only stocks 12 and 15mm thick plates, while the project asks for 10mm, which will add unnecessary weight.
    I do not know which kind of wood I should use for the keelson, for the edges of the keel case, the deck bearers, gunwale and structural rods in general. Most are mainly rods measuring 18x35mm. Since I would like a relatively light alternative to partly compensate for the heavier plywood, which wood would you recommend?
    I guess cedar would be better and last longer than (knot free) pine, although it would certainly be more expensive (my little beloved country has few resources but brain power, so most everything here is imported).

Buoyancy: Another question is about the aft and rear flotation chambers: should I use car tyre tubes? polyethylene bags filled with canned styrofoam? PET bottles?
    As a 56 y.o. beginner, I beg your mercy if my ignorance shows too much! For instance: perhaps some lightening holes in the bottom of the boat would help?:D

2. cthippo

cthippo Senior Member

Welcome aboard, Aharon!

I was too cheap to buy inflatable buoyancy bags for my kayak so I got ahold of a 10 gallon Ziploc and stuffed it full of Styrofoam packing peanuts and taped it shut. It's been close to a year and it's working fine. I wouldn't use this anywhere I couldn't get at for inspection and replacement though.

3. Aharon

Aharon Junior Member

Thanks for the welcoming, cthippo!