Question for you gurus

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by Cruizin, Mar 9, 2012.

1. Cruizin

Cruizin New Member

So I've always wanted to build a boat and hopefully will some day. I have a question for you guys. I want to take a c channel piece of carbon fiber and add some extra shape to it. Its 2" wide 1.5" deep and .0625" wall thickness. I want to create some free form bulges on the outside of it and add a foam on the inside to make it stronger. I would then like to make a solid epoxy shell and then paint it. Any suggestions on materials and how to go about it? I am an engineer and have access to all sorts of resources but have pretty much zero experience with this stuff.

Thanks and any suggestions are very appreciated.

2. Herman

Herman Senior Member

What kind of answer do you expect when you do not even specify length, or type of boat?

3. Cruizin

Cruizin New Member

Its not for a boat but I am thinking the materials used to make a boat could be used to stiffen this piece of carbon up. Can I simply add fiberglass and epoxy to stiffen it up? What about a foam type filler any suggestions there? What about a gel coat that gives a transparent finish? Looking for techniques and material suggestions.

4. upchurchmr

upchurchmr Senior Member

Cruzin,

If you want to stiffen up a carbon fiber channel you ought to use carbon. The carbonfiber is about 3 times as stiff as the glass, so you would need a lot of glass, it becomes a waste of the carbon. Would you just be better off using another piece of channel? Is there some reason why you need the carbon?

Adding foam will do nothing to make it stronger, it doesn't matter what kind of foam.

Actually if you want something stiffer can you use a rectangular section aluminum pipe? Anything with a closed section will be stronger than that open channel.

If you can describe what you want to do with it someone can probably help.

5. alan white

alan white Senior Member