Question about determining chain plate alignment (alberg30)

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by wesley Sherman, Oct 26, 2020.

1. wesley Sherman

wesley Sherman Junior Member

In the process of rebuilding my Alberg, I made a pattern of the angle of the chain plates before removing them. Currently and sadly I have lost the patterns I made due to a move and someone thought they were not important.
    So now how does one know the proper alignment. I know how to align to the mast but not the angle of the chain plate to the rigging. I am new to this but I am believing the plates need to be in close alignment to the rigging there attached to.
    Is there some formula used? Mast height/shroud length.

Any help for this rookie would be appreciated.

2. bajansailor

bajansailor Marine Surveyor

Hi Wesley - you could do a rough calculation by scaling some dimensions off the general arrangement drawing here -
    https://sailboatdata.com/sailboat/alberg-30

I did a rough calculation for the angles of the forward and aft lower side shroud chainplates, and I got 78 degrees to horizontal for the forward chainplate, and 76 degrees for the aft chainplate.
    I calculated this using a simple triangle with a 90 degree angle - the height of the triangle is the height from the deck to the crosstrees, and the width of the base of the triangle is the half breadth locally in way of that chainplate.
    I measured the height as approx 5300 mm, and the half breadth in way of the forward chainplate as approx 1120 mm, and in way of the aft chainplate as approx 1270 mm.
    The tangent of the angle is the height / half breadth - for the aft chainplate this is 5300 / 1270 = 4.17.
    And the inverse tangent of 4.17 is 76 degrees.
    This is assuming that the GA drawing is reasonably accurate!

For the cap shroud chainplates, I think that they most probably come down fairly vertically?