Rudder design for 14ft catamaran

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by handlebars1, Jan 22, 2013.

1. handlebars1

handlebars1 New Member

Hi all, I have just purchased a 14Ft fibreglass catamaran but it has no rudders. I am an engineer and have access to heaps of different types of stainless steel, but I am having trouble trying to track down some info on what size and shape to make the rudders. Any help would be much appreciated. Cheers

2. upchurchmr

upchurchmr Senior Member

There are lots of Hobies being thrown away due to hull separation. Every one has rudders with no real issues. Just keep looking on Craigslist or E-bay (or the equivilent down there- just looked at your location). You could even get a set for a 16 and make smaller blades to match the Hobie 14. Too bad you are not in Texas, I know just where to go about 10 miles away.

3. Petros

Petros Senior Member

On a cat that size it is not likley super high performance anyway, so there is nothing really critical about size, larger ones give you better low speed control but contribute to drag at higher speeds, smaller less drag but poor low speed control. So to "properly" size them there are a lot of trade offs and optimizations that can be done. you can just pick a size based on scaling pictures of similar sized boats and be close enough. you might just make one out of laminated wood to tray it out, it would be easy to shape it and to change size to try out a smaller one. When you are happy with it fiberglass it and paint the outside to make it more durable. Or just varnish them.