puzzles about AQWA DRIFT

Discussion in 'Software' started by godfrey_wong, Mar 11, 2012.

1. godfrey_wong

godfrey_wong Junior Member

Hello Everyone:

Recently I'm studying on the Mannual of AQWA DRIFT. Accually I'm feeling frustrated cause the lack of theory on second-order hydrodynamic as well as the related cases. Here I list some of my questions and hope for your help:

1. We do not take the effects of mooring into consideration in AQWA LINE. But we need to input parameters about mooring in Deck 14. Is there problem if we just use the RAOs of Line in Drift?

2. When it comes to second-order force, we are asked to input slow added mass and slow damping in Deck 9. I'v never seen the two terms before. I regard it as a defenition similar with added-mass and damping in the theory of linearized theory(Just replace the normal frequency with the slow frequency). Is this right?

3. There are so many coefficiences in Deck 9~14. How can we get these parameters(by estimation or sources from other software)?

Thanks a lot for your attention and help.

2. CWTeebs

CWTeebs AnomalyGenerator

I'll need to recheck my notes when I go into work tomorrow, but, no, it's not valid to use the RAOs calculated in LINE without the effects of articulation. There's a number of ways you can solve this, e.g. running AQWA-FER with the articulations in between the AQWA-LINE and AQWA-DRIFT (I was told the exact way to do this, I just can't remember but I know I wrote it down).

For the quadratic forces part of the calculation is resolved by doing an extra set of added mass and damping matrices. These are similar to the traditional added mass and damping matrices but at ultra low frequencies (drift frequencies).

3. godfrey_wong

Thanks for your help

Your suggestion to connect LINE and DRIFT with FER is quite reasonable.