Purchasing Steel in the USA

Discussion in 'Metal Boat Building' started by Michael W, Jun 23, 2009.

1. Michael W

Michael W Junior Member

Hi. First of many posts hopefully. For those builders in the USA, I am wondering where you purchase and process your steel. I am looking for A-36 steel plate .25 inch and .18 inch. 6' x 25 ' maximum dimensions. I have e-mailed and called just about every steel provider I can find, but usually never get a response.

I am an amateur who is going to build a 52' steel Trawler. I already purchased the plans and cutting files and so am doing some planning here.

Thanks for your help.

Michael

2. Tad

Tad Boat Designer

3. tazmann

tazmann Senior Member

20' long should be easy, going longer you need to find a dealer that has it in coils. where about are you?
    Tom

4. Michael W

Michael W Junior Member

Hey. I will be building the boat in Seattle. As for Coils, I don't think I want anything that has been coiled. Maybe I'm wrong but doesn't that contain an undesirable memory. I'm pretty sure I have seen plates over 20' long before, just can't find any one that wants to sell them to me.

5. tazmann

tazmann Senior Member

I cant give you any names of places but the origami guys up in BC buy large plates and get them wheel abraded and primed.
    Tom

6. Michael W

Michael W Junior Member

Hey Tom:

Being new to the forum, I really don't know who the origami guys are in BC. BC sounds like a good area to potentially buy being close to Seattle. How do you think I could get in touch with these guys? Thanks.

Michael

7. Tad

Tad Boat Designer

8. tazmann

tazmann Senior Member

Origamiboats on yahoo groups would be one place but you would have to join the group to ask. Brent Swain is on here quite a bit, maybe he could help you with some contacs in that area for steel. Give a call to the # Tad posted they might be able to help or at least point you in the right direction.
    Tom

9. Michael W

Michael W Junior Member