Looking for good calculations resource sight

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Lion of NOLA, Aug 25, 2010.

1. Lion of NOLA

Lion of NOLA New Member

Hi I'm building a 45ft, 4 stage side wall drydock. I'm looking for a good websight with some airspace to buoyoant lift calculators as well as just good easy quick reference calculation tips. If anyone knows of such a sight please link it to me.
    I'm currently a student at Texas maritime academy. For engineering and I'm using at least 6 books as reference. A single sight will really help me out. Any takers.

2. jehardiman

jehardiman Senior Member

At the request of another, I have withdrawn the original text as was interperted as more cutting than I intended. I still stand by my original concerns voiced to the OP. 1) a 45 ft floating drydock can generate large forces. 2) A web search for Archimedes Principle and the Gas Laws will solve the question. 3) Using air to deballast a floating drydock is not recommended.

Last edited: Aug 25, 2010
  3. Lion of NOLA

Lion of NOLA New Member

I'll put it in 3 easy to read, simple facts.
    1. this isn't my first rodeo. I'm 29, high school was 13 years ago. I have been doing this for the past 12 years.
    2. I'm typing this on my iPhone autotext is a *****. Sight = site.
    3. It's way easier when I'm at the yard to carry an iPhone with Internet access to get a quick ref. For a problem.

All I'm asking for Is a website with reference information. I'm not asking for a professional criticism of my poorly described plan. I'm not asking for your help or opinion in building designing or operating it. I'm looking for a math site. That's all.

4. jehardiman

jehardiman Senior Member

( Response to Post #3 removed as irrelevant to the discussion)