Cross Indian ocean in 4 meters dinghy sailboat

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Nauticals, Mar 4, 2018.

1. Nauticals

Nauticals Junior Member

For long time now i have thoughts on building a small plywood epoxy dinghy-like sailboat about 4 meters and cross the indian ocean from Singapore or Malaysia to Mauritius.

I would like your advice for topics vary from building with plywood methods & strength, gear, navigation, self-steering system for small boats, and even best possible route and time of the year to do that.

I have already done my research and keep searching more information, im looking this forum for sometime now and whats best than asking other people to share knowledge and advice.

Thanks in advance!

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

First question: How much sailing experience do you have?

3. Nauticals

Nauticals Junior Member

I have zero "sailing" experience and here this forum kicks in. However have with small motorized boats and much with kayaks. I am aware of the near to shore dangers, but that's it, i haven't been far off-shore beside with ferry lines.

4. kerosene

kerosene Senior Member

And would you seriously consider the advice given by the professionals with relevant experience (I am not one of them)? Would you take the advice to your heart - even if the advise was that you are comung to this from the wrong direction and tha your plan by key criteria is really bad?

5. messabout

messabout Senior Member

A four meter boat is not well suited to travel any body of water as mean and unpredictable as the Indian ocean. That ocean has no conscience, It will kill you without remorse. That same ocean or any of its kind is not the place for an inexperienced sailor, navigator, survivalist.

6. Angélique

Angélique aka Angel (only by name)

7. Angélique

My advice is to start sailing and build up experience, and make plans that are within your ever growing skills and know-how.