propeller selection

Discussion in 'Props' started by hillmaster, Dec 9, 2008.

1. hillmaster

hillmaster Junior Member

hi

I am currently an undergraduate university student and I am during my final year during which I have to do my final year project (thesis). my thesis is the design and construction of a human powered boat.

i am currently trying to determine the propeller that i should use. for my project i will not design the propeller but i will look for what is available and optimize the propeller that best fits my human powered boat.

i have some queries regarding the selection...

regarding diameter: it is stated that a larger diameter will be more efficient therefore i will go for a propeller with a large diameter as possible. space is not a problem so i may even opt for 15" up to 17" propeller.

regarding pitch: the propeller will be rotating relatively low (about 320rpm) therefore the pitch has to be quite large if i want to achieve the required cruising speed of about 2m/s. therefore pitch will have to be larger than 15".

regarding number of blades: my main problem is regarding number of blades on the propeller. i have read elsewhere on this forum that two blades will perform better with human power. but why? is it because the same thrust can be achieved by a larger diameter prop and hence more efficient than a three bladed prop which would be small in diameter but three blades? am i correct to say that the thrust developed depends on the blade area?

regarding torque and thrust: of course I would need to calculate the thrust, torque and efficiency of the propeller. I studied the blade element theory to be able to calculate these values however a lot of data is required to be able to use this approach (blade element theory). any alternatives or suggestions??

i really appreciate any comments and suggestions!!

THANKS A LOT FOR THE HELP

CLIVE

2. hillmaster

hillmaster Junior Member