Propeller pitch Lombardini 30 hp

Discussion in 'Props' started by radier, Dec 1, 2012.

1. radier

radier Junior Member

I'm about to install one Lombardini 30/28 hp diesel in SB hull of my 37 ft sailing catamaran. Untill now I have used one 20 hp 4-stroke Yamaha OB in each hull cruising at ca 6,5 knots by one OB, top speed 10 knots by both. I'll keep the 20 hp Yamaha in port hull for harbour use, cruising will be by the 30 hp diesel only and I hope for ca 7 knots cruising at a reasonable rpm, top speed not so important.
    Hull LWL is 11,0 m, weight ca 3,3 t cruising, easily driven hulls with recorded sailing top speed of 25 knots.
    Lombardini 30 hp at 3600 rpm, gear 2,6:1.
    I have been recommended a 3-bladed Flexofold prop 16"x9" but feel perhaps 16"x11" should be better. Any experts out there (I have no experience with diesels, just jet engines:)?

2. tunnels

tunnels Previous Member

exsplain why you think the 16 x 9 is to small and you should use a 16 x 11??? if the motor will rev its max rpms with little effort then yes the 16x9 could be a fraction small but in a heavey seas with head winds etc etc it could be better suited than the 16x11 that will make the motor work all the time at 99% Of its efficentcy in calm seas without head winds and rough seas and your gallons per hour will go up . I am a firm believer having a little in reserve and never running small motors at the max all the time !!

3. jonr

jonr Senior Member

Engine and prop in sailboats has more to do with worse case needs than best economy cruising. But a two speed transmission could give you both.

With the second engine, your case is different and you could select for best economy (should be around 2000 rpm). This suggests a higher that normal pitch prop.

4. radier

radier Junior Member