Fuel/Water Tank Placement...

Discussion in 'Powerboats' started by monrosm@shrewsb, May 21, 2010.

1. monrosm@shrewsb

monrosm@shrewsb Junior Member

Ok Im having trouble finding answers to my problem so if anyone has any info it's much appreciated...

Im a university student doing yacht Design working on a design for a 16m cruiser and need help with placements of fuel and water tanks...

Things that need to be taken into account are that the engines are quite far back so put a lot of weight at the stern, also remember that fuel tanks will reduce in weight (fuel being used) when the boat is in use, the water tanks also get lighter but a lot of the water will flow into the grey and black water tanks...I have attached some pictures of the package drawing which should help people understand!

Engines should be pretty obvious, Red blocks = fuel tanks, Light Blue = water, Dark Blue = Black water, and Brown = Grey Water....

What is the calculation for this??? There must be ways of working what goes where with some level of intelligence...its driving me nuts!!!

Thank-you Everyone

Attached Files:

2. CDK

CDK retired engineer

There is no specific calculation. Draw a vector diagram with equally distributed loads for the fixed objects and find the center of gravity. Than add the weight of fluids (and people) as point loads and find the CoG again. From the distance it shifted aft you can calculate the approximate change in angle of the waterline. If that is dramatic you must relocate the tanks or use smaller ones.

3. baeckmo

baeckmo Hydrodynamics

.......and fuel tanks should not be low and wide; that will cause aeration and sloshing problems.

4. apex1

apex1 Guest

In addition to the comments of my peers which i fully back.

The easiest (not cheapest though) way to keep such finicky design in balance is a watermaker refilling / balancing the consumed water / fuel weight.

Regards
    Richard

5. tunnels

tunnels Previous Member

Something unrelated !!