Project Solar Boat

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by drbobbob@aol.co, Nov 6, 2009.

1. drbobbob@aol.co

drbobbob@aol.co Junior Member

Hello to all,
    I am a newbie, not only to this website, but to the world of boating.
    I am working with a great group kids from Santa Monica HS (called Team Marine) who are building a solar powered boat as part of the Solar Cup competition put on by the MWD (Metropolitan Water District) in So Cal.
    We built a boat last year flying by the seat of our pants and this year we hope to put a lot more thoughtful engineering into our project.

Your input, experience and advice (which may include referrals to a good psychologist) are appreciated.

Here is what we are working with. All teams start with the same hull. (pictured below) I would describe it as a 15' flat bottom canoe. The electric motor (Agni Motors 95 series) powered by 2 12v Optima Yellow Cap batteries in series. From the performance graphs, at 24v, it puts out about 10HP at 800 RPM. Weight of the boat with skipper is about 300 to 350 lbs.

Project 1 is the Drive Train.

Given the HP / Weight / Hull type we are trying to determine the best propeller Diameter, and Pitch to use as well as what kind of gearing ratio we might be able to use. I have been to some sites with "select the right propeller" calculators, but our motor and hull type are never an option.

We can go with two propellers as there are two very different races.
    One propeller would be to provide the most power for a 200meter sprint.
    The other would be to provide the best efficiency as we try to see how far we can go in 90 minutes balancing the power drawn by the motor with the the solar panels ability to recharge the batteries.