Design in AutoCAD

Discussion in 'Software' started by pazimmer610, Dec 28, 2011.

1. pazimmer610

pazimmer610 New Member

I would like to know where to get started in design using AutoCAD. I have 4 years of experience in AutoCAD, but it was mainly houses and floorplans. I did design one boat but, it was so "sketchy" and not very well drawn using the software. Any suggestions? I feel like the dwg may need to be set up differently than if I were doing a floorplan or house. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Last edited: Dec 28, 2011
  2. hoytedow

hoytedow Carbon Based Life Form

Boats are built on the floor, so start by laying out a floor in acad. As you draw the boat from the floor up you may want to start laying out the building jig simultaneously.

3. hoytedow

But there is more to it than just knowing how to use autocad. You must also know the requirements of the vessel.

4. pazimmer610

pazimmer610 New Member

What exactly do you mean by requirements?

5. hoytedow

Speaking as an amateur, I refer to stresses, loads, hydrodynamics, economy, materials, assembly procedures and techniques and many other factors involved to move the boat from the drawing board to the dock.

6. hoytedow

Knowledge of floor-plans is important in both houses and boats, so that is a plus for you. There is a strategy for the lay-out of traffic patterns and usage in both. Form follows function. Houses and boats must both be protected from their environments but there is a lot of difference between the two.

7. hoytedow

Just as a house has many layers of blueprints tailored to different sets of contractors (i.e. electrical, plumbing etc.) so it is with boats. All layers must be compatible.
    There are more similarities in the drafting on acad than there are differences. Just follow the same standards you already know but adjust for the differences when you encounter them.

8. rwatson

rwatson Senior Member