Problem importing from Rhino into Maxsurf

Discussion in 'Software' started by Zygan, Jan 4, 2018.

  1. Zygan
    Joined: Dec 2017
    Posts: 13
    Likes: 0, Points: 1
    Location: madrid

    Zygan Junior Member

    Been using Modeler for some more hulls with minor adjustments and was working perfectly until today I tried a minor change on the fore body in Rhino and then planned to work on it on Maxsurf but Maxsurf seems unable to draw the lateral surface. I've tried to import as IGES but I lose parts of the design so it's not working. I'll attach the Rhino file and the .msd and hope you guys can help me out.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. TANSL
    Joined: Sep 2011
    Posts: 5,501
    Likes: 152, Points: 73, Legacy Rep: 300
    Location: Spain

    TANSL Senior Member

    I have tried several things in Maxsurf but I have not achieved anything useful. There must be internal errors on the surfaces that give rise to out-of-control results.
    If you give me the b ody lines plan of that ship I will try, by my means, to create surfaces that can be exported correctly to Maxsurf.
     
  3. Zygan
    Joined: Dec 2017
    Posts: 13
    Likes: 0, Points: 1
    Location: madrid

    Zygan Junior Member

    Don't have the laptop right now, I'll upload the lines in a couple hours. Thank you.
     
  4. Zygan
    Joined: Dec 2017
    Posts: 13
    Likes: 0, Points: 1
    Location: madrid

    Zygan Junior Member

    I'm using a loft surface along the frames, but I don't think thats the problem.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. TANSL
    Joined: Sep 2011
    Posts: 5,501
    Likes: 152, Points: 73, Legacy Rep: 300
    Location: Spain

    TANSL Senior Member

    Have a look.
    Snap49.jpg
    I have created the curve that defines the transom. I have removed the two aft frames and made the surface by sweeping over the remaining curves.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Zygan
    Joined: Dec 2017
    Posts: 13
    Likes: 0, Points: 1
    Location: madrid

    Zygan Junior Member

    Thanks, mate. I'll try to do it myself, since I have to do more hulls.
     
  7. TANSL
    Joined: Sep 2011
    Posts: 5,501
    Likes: 152, Points: 73, Legacy Rep: 300
    Location: Spain

    TANSL Senior Member

    I use AutoCAD to create 3D models, which I then export to Maxsurf.
    I already know that Rhino has a lot of fan but, for models of naval architecture (I'm not talking about pretty renders, but exact models to calculate) I manage better, with much more security and precision with AutoCAD.
     
  8. Zygan
    Joined: Dec 2017
    Posts: 13
    Likes: 0, Points: 1
    Location: madrid

    Zygan Junior Member

    I'm just more used to Rhino for 3D modelling but guess I'll have to try out AutoCAD and see if I do better.
     

  9. bhnautika
    Joined: Feb 2006
    Posts: 815
    Likes: 46, Points: 38, Legacy Rep: 571
    Location: australia

    bhnautika Senior Member

    Zygan Maxsurf does not deal with trimmed surfaces from other programs it just imports the original surface. You also only need to import one side (starboard) then turn on the symmetrical in the surface properties to get the other side. Rhino also sometimes creates multiple surfaces instead of one continuous (as was the case I think in your model) . You can sometimes merge these (untrimmed) back into one surface which I did with yours.(see pic with orange back ground). Exported out in iges into maxsurf (see pic with blue background). I have added a MSD file of the hull model as it was created in rhino untrimmed, I then bonded the surfaces in maxsurf.
     

    Attached Files:

Loading...
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.