front rowing system for canoe

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by jyoder111, May 3, 2011.

1. jyoder111

jyoder111 Junior Member

I'm interested in a front rowing system for my canoe. I routinely paddle a couple miles on a flat river and I think rowing would be easier. I have little experience, but I'm thinking of stick welding the mechanism myself from plain steel, painting it, and making wings and oars from ripped 2x4 and plywood.

Here's a question, which of these systems gives the most mechanical advantage do you think?

1. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vs8qBExVAIA

or

2. http://www.forwardfacingrowingsystem.com/

Thanks,
    Jesse

2. Easy Rider

Easy Rider Senior Member

jyoder,
    Just sent you an e-mail. The Gig Harbor oars is what I'm going to get. They've had them for years and look very well engineered. The U tube oars are not offset like the Gig Hbr ones and look rather flimsy. On the Gig Hbr web site look at the "installation" section. Notice how gently the you tube guy rows. Could be a reason for that. By "wings" do you mean outboard oarlock mounts?
    Easy Rider

3. jyoder111

jyoder111 Junior Member

Thanks for the response. And yes, the wings question. I'm interested to hear what you think of the Gig Hbr system.

4. Squidly-Diddly

Squidly-Diddly Senior Member

I've also wanted to weld-up my own set or two of these.

$495 seems a bit much for something I might or might not use and it looks simple enough.

I did say elsewhere they generally don't work to well with very narrow beam boats like sliding seat shells w/outriggers.

Feathering the oars ('sculls') and skimming the water on the recovery stroke is an important part of balancing those boats and I don't see how you could feather oars on a Front-Rower without a LOT of additional mechanics, or maybe just a few sets of U-joints.

Can the Forward Facing Rowing System be installed on a canoe?