River Pirate

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by Chase_B, Aug 26, 2011.

1. Chase_B

Chase_B Junior Member

Hello all,.. Last year I was using a 14 foot jon boat for fishing shallow rivers,. I am a disabled vet and man handling the jon boat in and out of my truck to and from the water was just too taxing for me,..so I decided to build a boat that had it's own trailer built into it,..the reason for this ,..sometimes me and a friend would do 8 to 14 mile river floats,..just fishing and drifting,..we would have a vehicle parked at the proposed exit point on the river,..building the boat with it's own mode of transport eliminated the need for 2 trailers ,..or for someone to drive the tow vehicle with trailer from the enter point to the exit point.

Attached Files:

• rp5.jpg
      rp5.jpg
      File size:
      163.1 KB
      Views:
    2 people like this.
  2. BATAAN

BATAAN Senior Member

Good design for the waters you use it in. More people should design and build sensible boats that fit their actual needs and uses as you have done.

3. Chase_B

Chase_B Junior Member

Thank you BATAAN,.. I built my boat,..as I build my planes,..for specific needs :)
    I've used the boat in water as shallow as 12 inches and as deep as 100 foot ,..the thing that is in common between the depths,..it's flat water,..no waves,..a flat bottom pontoon,..or any style flat bottom boat in waves is not a joy to float on for me :)

4. thudpucker

thudpucker Senior Member

I've seen two adaptions to your idea in the past.
    One was a Clamp on affair.
    As if you used an axle going across the boat up at the Gunn'l with two landing gear attached. Swing the gear up or down.

The other looked a little better.
    It had a Stern of 'right-angle; Sheet metal, and swing up/dn Landing gear....with a boat attatched by bolts.

The Tow bar is what made a mess of both ideas.
    The only one I looked at had a Sheet metal VEE in the front with the Hitch attatched with Pin's n' Clips.

5. Chase_B