powder coating

Discussion in 'Materials' started by jim lee, Feb 13, 2010.

1. jim lee

jim lee Senior Member

How well does powder coating work for keeping things from corroding? Is it better or worse than paint?

thanks!

-jim lee

2. mark775

mark775 Guest

Jim. I am not a paint expert but do a lot of boat work and have been around it. There are epoxy paints, Devoe products amongst them, that are amazing in preventing corrosion. I believe that powder coating is a little tougher and resists heat better, paint resists lifting better if the film is damaged and water gets under. I whittled the most beautiful engine beds imaginable out of 3/8 steel angle, powder coated, then changed my mind on mounting the engine and had to cut part of the newly coated steel. The short answer is that the metal is always coated with ACF-50 and is shiny like a new penny years later. Tho I had a mixer drip saltwater on the rail and a mounting bolt, there is no visible sign of corrosion. Powder coating is cheaper than good quality epoxy paint and there is less chance of a "holiday". Awlgrip, Imron, Sterling, etc. cannot keep up in the anti-corrosion race.

3. CDK

CDK retired engineer

Powder coating looks better and is cheaper to apply.

It does little or nothing at all to protect against corrosion if it was the only treatment the product was subjected to. I've seen coating coming off in large flakes and blisters within weeks of immersion in seawater because the material under it was not thoroughly cleaned or degreased.

4. TollyWally

TollyWally Senior Member

Paint doesn't do to well under those conditions either. What's the lowdown on a more apples to apples kind of comparison?

How does powder coating compare to high quality paint when both are applied using best practices?

5. CDK

CDK retired engineer