Wing Sails

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by venomousbird, Jan 2, 2009.

1. venomousbird

venomousbird Junior Member

Hi there, I'm wondering if anyone can explain to me briefly the advantages and disadvantages of using a rigid wing sail. I'm wondering if they offer greater efficiency, and also, how they are furled (or not) in bad weather. Thanks.

2. Autodafe

Autodafe Senior Member

Hi VB,

I'm not an expert on these, but I think you've got the main points already :)

Rigid wing sails are (if correctly designed) more efficient than soft sails, as long as the conditions match those they were designed for. To achieve an advantage requires a lot of care at the design stage, and preferably, plenty of cash for high tech materials.
    Wing sails that perform well in a variety of wind speeds and apparent wind angles may end up having a lot of moving parts, with two or three adjustable slots in the wing.

And the big down side, as you alluded to, is that no one (that I know of) has yet come up with a convenient way to reef or furl them.
    Additional problems that are particularly telling for offshore work include increased fixed windage and increased fixed weight aloft.

There are a few reefing/furling options that have been built, but these tend to be complex and/or heavy:
    It is possible to reef some of the more complex wing sails without reducing area by adjusting the trim of slots in the sail.
    Alternatively several wings can be installed, and then progressively lowered to the deck as wind increases.
    Another option is to pivot the wing laterally around its center, and then to reef (or furl) you progressively lower the wing closer to horizontal, thus the sail is "furled" when the wing looks like a aircraft wing, and produces only vertical lift.