possibilities of plastic panels 4 yacht construction?

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by Peter Duck, Mar 30, 2010.

1. Peter Duck

Peter Duck Junior Member

I'm a newbie to these forums so excuse me if there are threads existing on this topic.

:idea: I have been wondering for some time about the feasibility and cost of using some type of strong plastic panels or similar that can be joined to construct a cruising yacht. Looking at yard funiture, water tanks etc it seems plastic of some types, if designed with the right bracing may be strong enough, has anyone heard of anything like this or have any ideas if it could work?:confused:

2. bistros

bistros Previous Member

Anything can be done, and just about everything has been tried.

The fastest growing segment of small dinghy sales is rotomolded and thermoplastic hulled boats. These hulls are practically tough and durable, able to withstand a lot of abuse. The two main plastic construction methods are injection thermomold and rotomolding.

Downside is that repairs are tough if major damage is done - plastic "welding" isn't as simple, reliable and strong as the original surface. Plastic hulls are much heavier than most other materials if built to the same strength. Plastics don't like long term UV exposure - degradation in strength happens pretty fast.

I own and paddle a Perception thermoplastic whitewater kayak (pretty much all whitewater boats are plastic). We don't leave them out in direct sunlight longer than necessary.

Larger scale boats may not be as advantageous in plastic, as the larger the unsupported surface span, the more likely oil-canning (cyclical plastic deformation due to varied surface pressures) will occur. Soft hulls are slow hulls, therefore the stiffer the surface, the faster and better performing the boat. I think weight would quickly become a factor in larger boats as well. More ambient heat equals more flexing as well.