Sculpture Flotation Device

Discussion in 'Stability' started by whitts_r1, Feb 12, 2012.

1. whitts_r1

whitts_r1 Junior Member

Hello all,

Upon stumbling the forum during research I noticed some very helpful posts regarding calculation of buoyancy etc.

This is my first post, to introduce myself I am an engineering student with a large project on my hands and looking for sources of information.

I have been given the task of designing a device that will allow a sculpture to float in a pond of 5m depth. The sculpture has to maintain a 5-10mm distance from water level at all times leaving only the sculpture visible and the device fully submerged! (4-5" WATER LEVEL DEVIATION THROUGHOUT YEAR) meaning sculpture will be moving up&down.

The sculpture is of 485kg. The idea is to place the sculpture on framework incl. floats which will keep the sculpture afloat, by "counteracting" the weight of the structure against the upward force created by the floats (buoyancy).

where am I going with this? Well... I hope that with your knowledge of flotation/buoyancy calculations etc. I could be pointed in the right direction of information that would help me find out how I can make this work!!! :D

I appreciate that this is a boat design forum so if i have come to the total wrong place forgive me.

Many thanks in advance,
    Paul.

Just some pics to maybe make more sense of this post!

(wood sculpture, grey = framework/structure, Yellow = floats, concrete base to sit on pond floor)

[​IMG]

2. Mr Efficiency

Mr Efficiency Senior Member

That would be the sculpture, and only 5-10mm of that black tube above water level ? It is always raining in Ireland, they tell me, so a shower of rain wetting the sculpture will probably submerge it to the point where the sculpture is kissing the water, at which point it's bouyancy will kick in and stop it sinking. Seems like a very fine balance, the bouyancy in that tube is such a small fraction of the total.

3. whitts_r1

whitts_r1 Junior Member