Writer needs to identify this 1939 wooden boat

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by jcheckow, Jun 17, 2014.

1. jcheckow

jcheckow New Member

Hi, I'm a writer working on a non-fiction book that takes place in Maui in the late 1930's. In 1939, the boat in the picture (15'-16' described in the newspapers as a "motor launch" wrecked in Kahului Bay, Maui, with 12+ aboard. 3 died. I have all the newspaper accounts, and I have this picture, but I am trying to find out which make and model this is. It would help so much in the writing of the chapter, because I'll be able to better describe its attributes, horsepower, etc. I'm not a boat person, although I grew up on the water in MA, so I would appreciate so much any help you could offer, and fast. I'll be happy to put an acknowledgement in the book for the correct answers!!!
    Here's the link. Let me know if you can't get to it. With thanks,
    Julie Checkoway
    julie@checkoway.com

https://www.dropbox.com/s/g8u7eid7jp5yy2u/2014-06-16 14.24.31.jpg

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Welcome to the forum.

The picture is quite poor and little is recognizable: crew, hardware, rigging materials, rig type, pretty much everything.

The idea of make and model would be different in the late '30's. Most fishing craft of this size where slapped together, often right on the beach, with materials on hand, by a local builder or the fishermen themselves. So, this might be a 1939 JimBob 16 or a JoeLarry 17, but who knows.