General question mixing kevlar carbon

Discussion in 'Materials' started by sparrot, Oct 6, 2011.

1. sparrot

sparrot New Member

I've built a kevlar daysailerand am thinking of trying something bigger. I am studying the engineering aspects of composite construction and will probably use a designer for the final specs however there is one general principle I'm trying to understand. What is the purpose of a kevlar/carbon laminates or mixing them as skins in a cored construction? It seems that combining the two would lead to either a weaker or heavier laminate. Due to their different elasticity, under the right loading conditions wouldn't the carbon fail while the kevlar remained intact? I can see using kevlar as a reenforcement where the loads were primarily in tension but other than that isn't all carbon the way to go?

2. Eric Sponberg

Eric Sponberg Senior Member

Sparrot,