Local epoxy advice

Discussion in 'Materials' started by Vulkyn, Mar 23, 2011.

1. Vulkyn

Vulkyn Senior Member

Well started some tests (yes FINALLY after almost a year!!) with epoxy... have to say it was a joy trying it out for the first time.

Due to current conditions in Egypt and the lack of any sort of money, i started playing around with local epoxy brands instead of going for something like west system.

I coated some wood and made a small bonding trial and the results where acceptable. The bonding strength is good as far as i can tell which means i will need to do some more comprehensive tests.

The epoxy has a loooong curing time though after 4-5 hrs it was just starting to get less viscous (could be i did not mix portions properly) but according to the data sheet it need 8 hrs setting time.

For the time being i attached the technical data sheet of the epoxy i tried as i would love to get some advice regarding it.
    The supplier has no clue regarding the epoxy in marine use nor fillers to get the epoxy into a peanut butter consistency for bonding.

Here is the company's web site as well .. http://www.cmbegypt.com/en/index.php?page=epoxy-filler

Attached Files:

2. War Whoop

War Whoop Senior Member

The mix is 2:1 by weight! Did you use a scale?

3. Vulkyn

Vulkyn Senior Member

No but i am getting one soon .....

According to the data sheet, Is it a viable option for boat building?

4. Herman

Herman Senior Member

For what I read of it, this stuff can be used for epoxy/wood boat building. Just the heat resistance, I doubt that it is that high, but even it it was just 45 degrees C, it would not be that big of a problem.

Get yourself a good scale, that is important.

5. Vulkyn

Vulkyn Senior Member

Thx ! Yah I will I took some pictures that I will post later today on my first epoxy trials. I am also waiting for the data sheet for the filler which I have not used yet.