Complete newbie needs help and advice

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by a.g.turner, Aug 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. a.g.turner

a.g.turner Junior Member

Hi all.
    I'm new to boats in general but have been keen to get involved for many years.

I have just aquired a boat which will need lots and lots of restoration.

I have absolutelu no idea what this boat is and i'm very aware i may be in over my head and well out of my depth - no pun intended - but i've started now so I guess I have to plug away with what i've got

The first thing i need help with is finding out as much as possible about the boat itself

Can anyone identify the make and model and tell me anything about the specification etc.

Also can anyone point me in the right direction as to where to begin the restoration. My initial thoughts, as someone who knows nothing about boats but is a decent carpenter etc, is to remove all the paint and begin carefully removing the rotten wood but I may need help from a proper boat builder for this.

Any advice greatfully received. And please don't laugh too hard at my ignorance.

How do I go about uploading pics of the boat for identification purposes - in the meentime please look here for pics of the boat

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9TMzCEwRTVo

Many thanks

Andy

2. WickedGood

WickedGood Guest

I hope they paid you well to take it away.

Are you the Lass in the pictures?

Here is what II would do if the boat was mine.

Go get a Cololer full of Guiness and Ice

remove any stainless or bronze and sort them out. Bring the scrap metal to the salvage yard.

Bring the boat into a field, push it off the trailer, cut the Kell off with a chain saw and set aside.

Douse the hull with 20 Gallons of old Gasoline and hit it with a flare from about 100 yards away.

When the fire has melted down to a respectable rore. put a big kettle on and melt the lead down into sinkers.

There you go. It was not a total loss.

[​IMG]

3. sorenfdk