Building a 21' cruiser with inboard diesel and auto

Discussion in 'Projects & Proposals' started by lucas12, Mar 23, 2006.

1. lucas12

lucas12 Junior Member

I've been trying for 3 months to find my ideal boat, but no luck.
    So being a motorhome designer I've decided to make my own.
    What I was thinking was using a glass hull 21' that is very ocean worthy but a planing hull, and converting it to inboard/shaft drive using a car diesel to be marinized 2.0 turbo diesel with the auto 3 speed.
    The idea is to take on water ballast for rough seas that decreases volume (weight) at speed (calmer water) so in essence the boat would act as a semi displacement or a sport fisher (planing hull) all the interior panels would be alumium honeycomb which is 11kg per 8'x4'x 20mm board with incredible torsional stiffness, this would also do the bulkheads etc.
    My question to anyone the wiser (which wouldn't be hard) is "What could be wrong with the concept if any ?
    Oh the other factor is I want to spend $20,000 and so far looks achievable.

2. lucas12

lucas12 Junior Member

I'll make my own reply then

I've read just about every thread involving "using auto running gear" and there is definately one side of the fence or the other, yet no examples of proof as to what works and what doesn't. I've also come across some examples of people using 2 speed autos in ski boats and they work fine, one comment was some people turn the auto upside down to enable servicability, even that seems drastic, as it's not hard to pull out an auto once every blue moon. As far as marinising and air flow and cooling, I can't believe marinised basicly means being able to pump cold salt water into any engine, that's insane engineering ! no wander boat motors are so unreliable ! No offence to any purists but you're all being ripped off buy the greatest consumer scam ever.