Pontoon Boat Hulls - Why Round?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by MattJ, Feb 11, 2019.

1. MattJ

MattJ Junior Member

Hi, I am just curious, why are all pontoon boats made with round hulls and not a vshape style hull like a cat?

Is it just for manufacturing costs? Would it not be faster, plane, ride better if it was a tri hull with v-shape style bottom?

Sorry I am new to all this and I was curious as to why.

2. Blueknarr

Blueknarr Senior Member

Welcome to the forum.

Manufacturing cost is probably the greatest reason.
    Round also provides the largest buoyancy per skin ratio. Lowering cost of skin and friction allowing smaller (cheaper) engine. Cylinders also resist comprehensive forces well; reducing need for expensive internal support.

Given the typical length to beam ratio of individual pontoons, planing isn't really possible. Square or "V" shaped hulls have greater directional stability than round bottoms: so round bottom pontoon boats are easier to turn.

Tradition could also be to blame.

3. MattJ

MattJ Junior Member

Why would planning not really be possible? If you were to use a Cat style hull with a flat floor (and lower side) then what would be the downside over manufacturing this rather than round pontoons?

I mean manufacturing costs aside would it be a better riding, faster and better handling boat if it was cat style? Most pontoon boats seem to be designed for smooth American lakes rather than more for Australian waters like Sydney harbour etc where it gets a lot choppier and has to deal with a lot of extra traffic? Also something a bit beamer than the standard 8ft

4. fallguy

fallguy Senior Member

In the simplest terms, for the same shape, a round cylinder offers more displacement than any shape that will fit inside it.

i.e. floats higher

And when it floats higher; it will generally have a lower wetted surface area which reduces drag.

Pontoons are planing hulls, ftmp.

A cat hull as you describe can be a displacement hull.