Prospective Student of Naval Architecture/Yacht Design

Discussion in 'Education' started by dishsail, Mar 24, 2003.

1. dishsail

dishsail Junior Member

I am very interested in naval architecture and yacht design in general. I would like to start to get my hands wet in the field, but don't know how to draw anything. I have some experience in AutoCAD, but nothing with mechanical drawing. Also does anyone know of any ways I can learn to design boats on my own through personal experience. I am starting to read boats, but I don't have any ideas that are flowing through my head. Any suggestions?

Joseph

2. pjwalsh

pjwalsh Junior Member

Keep on reading,

Cy Hamlin's book "Preliminary Design of Boats and Ships" is very good for an introduction.

Go out on the water in the types of boats you are interested in. Look at what the problems, common situations, and solutions are. Look at how the boats are actually used. Look at the work of other designers. Meet them and ask questions if they are willing. Not just about boats but also how the business works.

Study up in basic physics, If you are already good with mathematics that is good, if not review algebra, trigonometry, calculus is not required but it is useful.

CAD skills are good, knowledge of drafting conventions too but are easily picked up as part of learning design. The ability to quickly sketch an idea is a key skill in any type of design work.

Once you start studying this subject the ideas will come quickly.

3. Stephen Ditmore

Stephen Ditmore Senior Member

This repeats what I've said in other places.... please forgive my redundancy.