Need help on first build

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by JR8916, Nov 9, 2010.

1. JR8916

JR8916 New Member

:confused:I have been searching for the right canoe/kayak/small boat and everything has some drawback to them. So I am going to build my own. This is my first build. My #1 issue is stability, I am 6 ft tall and weigh 300lbs. I need to build a canoe or piroque so I can stand up and fish. Most of the time I will be solo and using a trolling motor. I am thinking of 12 - 14ft and a wide floor base for stability. I saw on the internet a canoe that caught my eye but tooo expensive is the Myers Sportspal X-13. Can the forum members give me a starting piont and suggestions on my build. Oh my budget is less than $200 dollars.

Thank you
    JR

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

You don't want a canoe or kayak if you intend to stand up and fish. You want a flat bottom skiff, preferably one designed to row well. Also a $200 budget may not be especially realistic, particularly for a novice home built.

3. messabout

messabout Senior Member

Par is a credit worthy advisor. He got it right on both counts. Standing in a kayak is out of the question. Standing in a canoe is chancy, especially for a big guy. (unless you are also a ballet master). You are going to need some chine width. The flattie skiff is a good option.

Best advice is to build in steps until you can gather the wherewithal to do a good job of the build. Think in terms of $500 MOL. You do not have to do it all at once unless instant gratification has you in its grips.

4. dskira

dskira Previous Member

Honestly it is difficult to give any advice if your budget is $200.
    It is unrealistic.
    I suggest to start raising some fund prior to touch anything.
    As Messabout said $500. I will say around the $1000.
    Good luck
    Daniel

5. PAR