About building a frp sloop by the 3D printer

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Steve.Y, Nov 16, 2019.

1. Steve.Y

Steve.Y New Member

Hello, Masters!
    Actually, I'm a very newbie in this area so don't blame that my ridiculous question.
    The question is that the polycarbonate can be the matrix of frp stacking structure or not.
    Most of other plastics for the 3D printer are denaturated under 100 celsius degree but PC can stand over 140 celsius degree. So I wonder that PC can be matrix to stack the frp structure.
    By my rough calculating, 100ft*20ft*13ft hull needs about 7,000kg of PC and It will cost 13.5$/kg * 7000kg from china(except shipping charge and taxes) .
    And by using 4 modix 120x(1200mm*610mm*610mm) it will take about 3~4 month to print out all panels for a 100ft sloop.

My 'blue print' is like following drawing. (Sorry for very low quality)

--------------------------------- Aramid fiber with epoxy
    --------------------------------- Glass fiber with epoxy
    --------------------------------- Polyurethane foam
    --------------------------------- Polycarbonate matrix
    --------------------------------- Polyurethane foam
    --------------------------------- Aramid fiber with epoxy

If this structure looks like not impossible to real professionals, I will go to the master's degree to make it happen.
    Because 100ft sloop is very very expensive for me, So i wanna build my boat on my own under 500,000$.
    Tell me your advice please, I'm really waiting for that.
    Thank you for reading it. :)

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member