Stringers and floor

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Juicy, Mar 11, 2011.

1. Juicy

Juicy New Member

Hello everyone, a complete novice here. We were recently given a Savage Pacific power boat. The floor and transom are completely rotten and we have removed them. The hull of the boat is hard and has no soft spots, which I gather is a good thing. I Have read that one is not supposed to directly attach stringers to the floor of the boat as this could cause the hull to split. This next comment proves my ignorance and I apologise in advance, but how do you attach them to the floor if not directly? Many thanks for any advice and again I apologise for my ignorance. I have three teenage boys and figured this would be a great winter project for them!

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

First off welcome to the forum, second my sympathy for the illness that now has over come you and likely that will also affect your boys.

Stringers on the hull shell will not cause it to split in half, though can cause some deformations we commonly call "oil canning". Depending on the thickness and build method of your boat, this may or may not be an issue.

The year built, make and model boat will help identify the build type and possably other known issues.

Next, try to post some photos of the transom and sole (floor) removal. Lets hope you left a flange of some sort, so you have something to attach to. This is a common novice mistake and greatly increases repair difficulty.

So, post some pictures and the year, make and model information.

3. Juicy

Juicy New Member