Need suggestion on paint

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by pctongfcbcdalla, Sep 18, 2013.

1. pctongfcbcdalla

pctongfcbcdalla Junior Member

I am a first time boat builder.
    I purchased a 14' skiff marine plywood kits, fiberglass tape, fiberglass cloth, epoxy resin to build the skiff. It comes to the end stage. The boat look nice with some bubbles. I have done everything I know with advice from the forum to make it fair. I am looking for white paint to cover the whole boat. It seems there are many choices of marine paint. Some are very expensive. I am in Dallas. Would you give me some advise about what kind of paint to be used on the boat? I want to paint it white. Can I find paint from home depot, walmart or other store that fit for the boat job? I saw at the automobile department of Walmart paint for fiberglass cars. Would it good for boat?

2. Petros

Petros Senior Member

Quality high gloss latex exterior paint should work just fine. the companies that make house paint have large R and D departments, people want paint that will hold up to sun and weather on their houses. they have developed some tough and durable paints for just such a use, and they work fine on a boat. However Latex does not have good abrasion resistance for when you might land your boat on a sandy beach, but it is easy to touch up regularly. I have also used oil based high gloss paint from the big box stores with good results, though oil based paint is getting more difficult to find.

Boat paint is made in much smaller batches by much smaller companies and do not have the resources to develop new and more durable formulations. Most of the marine paint suppliers use traditional formulations, not necessarily better, but more typical of what the marine industry is used to using. I have heard by some professional boat painters that price is not any indication of durability.