Plywood 15.5' Boat Construction Newbie needing help

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by Uniquity, Jun 12, 2008.

1. Uniquity

Uniquity Junior Member

Hello all,

I'm glad I found this site... I love using forums to get help for whatever project I want to take on... People are so helpful everytime.

Anyways,

So... I want to build a boat. A 14 or 15.5 foot Jon Boat. I've seen Uncle John's site and will probably go with their plans. I plan on modding it a lot though and putting in decking (with marine carpeting) and such for rodholders, stereo, etc...

I'm a complete newbie at this, but just really, really want to do it.

So some questions I have:
    1.) How do I know how much epoxy/fiberglass cloth or tape I will need? I would like to fiberglass all of the joints, the bottom, and I dont know what else I'd have to glass over... Any help there is appreciated as well.

2.) I have installed cd players, and speakers and stuff in cars before... But have no clue where to start with a boat, especially since I'm building it all myself. How do I start the wiring process? If there are any easy-to-read tutorials about that, please point me to them... I need the wiring for my night lights on the boat and stuff as well.

3.) Any other tips anyone might have about building jon boats out of plywood, epoxy resin, and fiberglass cloth are greatly appreciated.

Again, I am thinking about a 48" bottom in width, and about a 14-15.5' length.

Of course I want a structurally sound boat, so I am willing to spend as much as I can within my budget (I am just going to be spending my spare money on supplies to build this all through the summer... I'm only a 22 year old college student, so I don't have a lot of money. Haha.)

-Uniquity

2. charmc

charmc Senior Member

Uniquity,

Welcome aboard!