Noob here. Looking at a Seaforth 24

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by TCieszki, Feb 14, 2014.

1. TCieszki

TCieszki Junior Member

Hello all. I am new here but not to sailing. I have owned a Hunter 28.5, Sanbel 19, and Prairie 32. I currently live aboard a Hunter 30 and also sail a Com-pac 16 (with beautiful Tan Bark sails) in and around Titusville, FL. I am interested in adding a Seaforth 24 to the "fleet". Anyone tell me more about this pocket cruiser blue water boat? Tnx, Terry

2. Petros

Petros Senior Member

this one?

[​IMG]

there are others that would know more than me, but based on the hull lines I would say it would be a roomy pocket cruiser, but rather slow. Likely sea kindly as well, it looks heavy and very strong. It was described as a coastal cruiser, but I think by the looks of it it would make a decent open water boat if good preparations and certain precautions were taken.

3. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Yep, you've surmised correctly, Petros, she's a well burdened little cruiser. She's easily twice as hefty as a other 17' LWL yachts at 4,200 lbs. and her D/L of 380 and SA/D in the low 13's suggests she'll do well in trade winds, and storms, but not much else. In her defense, she does carry a 38% ballast ratio, which is respectful for her general class. She'll track like a freight train, but backing down will prove a challenge, except to the prop walk side. She's built down quite a bit, so with heavy angles of heel, she'll lose most all of her effective lateral area. She should have a comfortable motion in a rough slosh and the forefoot is cut back enough, that tacking will occur with reasonable confidence.