Hole in the hull!!! can it be fixed???

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by roofape, May 6, 2009.

1. roofape

roofape New Member

i have a cruisers 3275 2002 model that took a hit on a large rock. The result was a hole about 30 inches in the bottom of the bow. There apperar to be some cracking in the structure upward and back. Is this repairable? If so is this a project for some one with several years of experience in residential construction, aircraft repair, and some auto body background. For the most part I am wondering is this something that can be repaired and if so could I make the repairs myself? I am new to the world of hull repair and any input would be great....... thanks......

Attached Files:

2. Rangerspeedboat

Rangerspeedboat Senior Member

Wow........What a hole.

3. alan white

alan white Senior Member

Of course it is repairable. But have someone with experience fix it. You can do a lot of the work as required and instructed, but you really need an experienced glass man to lay up a new stem and to reinforce the cracks. Assuming the damage is limited to the bow area.

4. rasorinc

rasorinc Senior Member

Is the area holed acessable from the inside? Does the stem have a stiffiner in it or is it solid glass. Do you know or can you find out if epoxy is compatable with the hull material? It is a big job but can be fixed and be stronger than the original. Need to know answers to my questions then I will tell you what I would do. You should be able to do it yourself if you have general wood working experience, know how to scrib, and fiberglassing experience. You will need a Good Jig saw. Also do you know the thickness of the hull at where it is holed?

5. roofape

roofape New Member