Basic Drafting Question(s)

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Clinton B Chase, Jan 19, 2008.

1. Clinton B Chase

Clinton B Chase Senior Member

I've been drawing boats for a couple years yet still struggle with setting up a very accurate grid. I have struggled getting it right by using my plastic triangles and using two together to erect perpendiculars off my LWL. I just can't seem to get them truly perpendicular. I use 12" triangles, one long the baseline or LWL and then the other set up flush against it to make a perpendicular. I am quite accurate with my lines. Yet when I double check the perp that I had just drawn it is not exactly perp to the LWL. I have checked the triangles with a steel engineer square and did find one was off. I sighted my drafting table and did notice it is not flat; it sags in the middle. It is very frustrating. Advise would be great!

Cheers,
    Clint Chase

2. timgoz

timgoz Senior Member

Clint,

Have you tried parallel rulers, such as used for chart work? Obviously, your non-flat table is going to present challenges with obtaining accuracey. Same goes for the triangle that is 'off'.

The best instruments and equipment will allow your full potential to show through. Defective ones cannot help but hinder your work.

Take care up there. I've visited Portland on several occassions & really liked it.

Tim

3. Landlubber

Landlubber Senior Member

First thing first. With your square set on the base line, draw a vertical, then reverse the square and draw another vertical from the reversed square exactly from the same base point, if there is any off square in the set, then it will be obvious to you where the lines show a gap at the top.

Beyond that, it may simply be practice, because we have been doing parallel lines for a long time before the computers took over.

Keep trying, like using a sextant to get a fix, it will not happen overnight, but it will happen.