Plans for Gerr Nester

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by seangoodwin, May 12, 2011.

1. seangoodwin

seangoodwin New Member

A complete novice, I'm seeking plans to build the Nester dingy I've read about in 'The Nature of Boats". I cannot locate them on-line; not even at Gerr Marine.
    I would appreciate any information or advice. Cheers.

2. Lurvio

Lurvio Mad scientist

The book contains the plans, table of offsets is on page 82. Just have to loft her.

Lurvio

edit: Oh, and welcome to the forum.

3. seangoodwin

seangoodwin New Member

Thanks Lurvio. I didn't have the confidence to go with the plans in the book 'cause the drawings are small and the instructions brief. I might just have to jump in the deep end

4. Lurvio

Lurvio Mad scientist

You don't really use the drawings, they are just something to compare your lofted drawings. Do a search for 'lofting' here on the forum or in google, You'll find plenty of info.

Lurvio

5. cthippo

cthippo Senior Member

I found these somewhere on the web and they seem to be pretty informative...

Attached Files:

• 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      412.2 KB
      Views:
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      359.8 KB
      Views:
    • 3.jpg
      3.jpg
      File size:
      493.3 KB
      Views:
    • 4.jpg
      4.jpg
      File size:
      467.7 KB
      Views:
    1 person likes this.
  6. seangoodwin

seangoodwin New Member

Thank you Lurvio & cthippo. Confidence is rising. I feel like I'm in the right place. Cheers Sean

7. cthippo

cthippo Senior Member

Basically, a table of offsets is an excessively complicated way of defining a series of points in three dimensional space. Each station is a length dimension and then the half breadths are the width dimension and the heights are, well, heights. So far, so good.