how to make mold for 16' boat

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by jermze, May 18, 2010.

1. jermze

jermze Junior Member

hi can i make a ply wood 16ft boat and use it as a plug for a mould would that be a process in place? im just currious any information would be great and appreciated thank you.

2. hoytedow

hoytedow Carbon Based Life Form

That sounds expensive. Why not just make a wood boat?

3. apex1

apex1 Guest

4. jermze

jermze Junior Member

thank you so much for the information you have given me, i am new to building anything that has to do with boats but i feel now that it is my passion. i live in australia and we do not have courses and have little or no information on building a boats, thats why any information i can have on building, plug, molds is a huge advantage. what is the differece between ply wood and just wood? and can you simplify so it will be much more easier for me to understand thank you!!!

5. hoytedow

Wood is generally planks cut from trees, while plywood is multiple thin sheets of wood glued together at various grain angles to creat something that will resist splitting and greatly increasing the strength in certain ways. Google these various terms and much information will pop up. Not all plywood is equal. Marine plywood lacks voids and is glued with waterproof(as much as possible) glue. Plywood is probably the easiest for a first time boatbuilder. Find some plans and build from them. You will save money and time and finish the boat before you are too old to use it.

6. tunnels

tunnels Previous Member