Okoume misery

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by messabout, May 27, 2006.

1. messabout

messabout Senior Member

I bought some 6mm and 9mm bs1088 okoume from a nearby supplier. Before buying, sight unseen, I asked questions. I was assured that 6mm was 5 ply construction and 9mm was 7 ply. After delivery I discovered that both the 6mm and the 9mm was only three ply. It had labels with a logo that said Okuply and also a mark that said Europly, along with the Marine plywood, bs1088 designation.

Comments please ! I am not confident in this material. I think that it does have the stiffness associated with that of plywood with more plies. Does anyone have any experience with plywood of this particular construction ?

I am not a Newbie at boat building but have not done a build in several years. Thus; I am not sure about what is available out there. Am I right to regard this stuff as suitable for carpet underlayment but not boat building ? 6mm cost was about $50/ sheet. I suspect that I may have been swindled and the BS part of the bs1088 designation might be just BS.

2. Hunter25

Hunter25 Senior Member

Veneer count gives plywood it's strength. You got taken, return it the supplier and ask for details on the manufacture. I'm sure Lloyds would be happy to find a manufacture that is falsely placing a BS 1088 stamp on inferior stuff. This will not be the first time a mis-marked panel, which interestingly enough is always said to be better, more expensive, has floated out of a supplier. The western rim countries are real bad about this and all products coming from there should be checked closely.

3. Raggi_Thor

Raggi_Thor Nav.arch/Designer/Builder

I agree, 5 ply is much more stable than 3 ply.
    You could also ask for a small sample (so you don't ruin the sheets you probably will return), and then try to boil it.