Building a jig from a hullform design

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by tampablendie, Apr 14, 2010.

1. tampablendie

tampablendie New Member

Hey Guys,

I'm new to boat building and this is my first post in the forum. My question is; "How do you design the jig for a particular hull design?"

I have obtained the designs for a Cherub Ellway 5 in a Hullform file. First off I don't see any dimensions when I open the file, just lines and sections that go 1:1, 2:2, 3:3..... and so on.

Assuming I can get the program to show dimensions, these are the external dimensions of the hull. I then have to adjust for the thickness of the hull (carbon fiber layers and foam layer), and then for the thickness of the longitudinal planks(terminology?), before I can then build the horizontal ribs(terminology?). All of which depends on the slope of the curve of the hull for any given point on that curve.

How do you accomplish this so the hull comes out like the design?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

2. alan white

alan white Senior Member

3. tampablendie

tampablendie New Member

Thanks for the reply alan,

That is not the design I will be working with, the Cherub is an open class and there are as many designs as there are boats. I am planning on using a male plug jig, as I have read that female molds are very time consuming and only really appropriate for large production runs where many boats will be made.

So let me clarify my question a bit. Imagine you have the designs for the external dimensions of a boat hull. Now you need to figure out the dimensions of the pieces to build a male jig that will result in the external hull shape you have.

4. alan white

alan white Senior Member

I wasn't familiar with the Cherub, that it was an open class. I put up the link for easy reference.