Mast step, compression Post, chain plates

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by skygusty, Aug 13, 2008.

1. skygusty

skygusty New Member

I am not a boat designer but have a question that only boat designers could answer.

I own a Victoria 18 - a full keeled 18 footer w 650 lbs of balast and 1250 lbs of displacement. They have a pronounced weather helm at anything over 8 knots that requires reefing. Over 12-15 knots or so and the excessive weather helm returns.

I have contemplated whether I could move the mast step toward the bow and reduce some of the weather helm. This could be accomplished fairly easily by drilling the mast step receptacle to allow the mast to sit forward in half inch increments, I would not want to move it more than 1 1/2 inches forward.

As the mast step sits on a compression post below deck, some sort of knee brace would probably have to be built to transfer the load from the deck into the post.

But another Vic 18 owner also expressed concern that the angle of the pull from the shrouds on the chainplates might cause problems down the road. So I thought I would post my question here and solicit opinions.

Would a move forward of 1/2 to 1 1/2 inches be enough or too much?
    Would a knee brace on the compression post be a sound plan?
    Would the sharper angle of pull on the chainplates be likely to cause problems?

Thanks in advance

2. alan white

alan white Senior Member

I doubt you'd notice any change with the mast moved forward a mere 1 1/2".
    The knee brace question depends upon many factors such as measurement between keel and step (length of post), but suffice to say 1 1/2" would require no more than a piece of wood attached to the forward edge of the post.
    Your problems are not of static balance per se, but shifting balance when heeled.
    This is common with boats having more assymetrical fore and aft sections.