making a mold

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by georgiahemi, Oct 12, 2007.

1. georgiahemi

georgiahemi Junior Member

Alright guys, need your input. I have been wanting to buy a mold for a canoe for some time now. But I think I better get my feet wet first since I have never done any of this before. I am now planning to make my own mold for a gas powered RC boat, just to test the waters, so to speak. I want to make sure I know what I am doing before I make something like a canoe, where I could actually sink in. I am planning on using just wood to make the mold, but my question is, what else do I use, bondo or somekind of foam to get it to shape smoother?? Remember, I am new at this, so be gentle! I am also on a strict budget(trying to pay off bills), so I don't have a lot to spend. Any info would help.

2. messabout

messabout Senior Member

First you make a plug. The plug will be the exact size and shape of the boat that you wish to build. The plug must be very smooth and polished. Use wax and some sort of parting agent such as polyvinylalchohol for a final coating of the plug. Now you are ready to make a mold.

The mold is built up of whatever material you choose, usually fiberglass. Then the mold is reinforced so that it will hold its' shape when removed from the plug. The plug is now useless. The female mold must be massaged so that it is also dead smooth and polished.

Now the fun begins. First spray in a gel coat of your choice of color. After that you can begin the layup using a variety of materials and methods. when the layup is complete you can begin to add the interior details like seat risers, bulkheads if any, breasthooks, etc. After all that is done you can try your damdest to get the boat out of the mold. During the design of the original plug you will need to be aware of the draft that must be a design element of the mold in order to get the finished boat out of it.