Planing electric boat with 40kw battery bank

Discussion in 'Electric Propulsion' started by gschuld, Aug 29, 2022.

1. gschuld

gschuld Junior Member

Hello,

First off, I am a boat builder, but I’d easily get a failing grade on any advanced electrical systems test. This post will be long, so for that I apologize.

I am 2/3 the way through a new house project, on the water with an 18KW array of LG solar panels into 2 planned 7,500KW all in one solar inverter/charge controllers. I should easily have a surplus of solar charging capacity as the panels should more than cover my household electric need, even with heat pump all electric heat/AC at 1800sqft.

I may have the opportunity to acquire a significant amount of Valence U1-12RT lithium batteries(12V 40ah) with roughly 1/2 of their life cycle remaining directly from a major hospital system regular maintenance swap out. These batteries were used exclusively in hospital equipment and likely had an easy life to date.

https://mesa-tec.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/05/Mesa_Valence_U_Charge_U1-12RT.pdf

In my area, NJ coast, we have full retail value net metering, and power outages are pretty rare. So a dedicated large capacity battery backup system for our home is a tough sell normally.

But if I can get my hands on a large quantity of these matching Valence batteries(at a VERY low cost) that may change things.

There are rack style batteries made for back up battery systems like those from SOK, EG4, etc to compare to.

So as I’d prefer a large battery bank as backup if I had one, I’d look at it in one of 3 ways.

1- Buy something like a Ford Lightning electric truck with its huge battery and its “Ford intelligent backup power”system. So it’s a useful truck, and a backup battery.

2- set up about 80 or so of the Valence batteries into the house in a permanent installation.

3- make use of all that battery power into something fun rather than just sit idle 24/7 waiting for the rare need to put them to use.