Plan to fit sail kit - Any reccomendations?

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by DrewBird, Jan 16, 2004.

1. DrewBird

DrewBird New Member

Hi All,

I have been interested in building a small sailboat for a couple of years. Ideally I would like to make a car-toppable boat capable of being sailed by one, but that could carry two at a pinch. Construction needs to be simple, as this is my first time ;)

The thing is, that last year a friend of a friend was selling an old (1970's) 10 ft Metzeler inflatable with a sail kit. I had never seen anything like it, so bought it for $350 CAD thinking that the sail kit would be useful for my future boat building plans. What made it worth it, for me, is that the mast is sectional. Each of the four pieces slots into each other, and then into a base plate on one of the wooden floor sections of the boat. A sectional mast makes my dream of a car toppable sailboat even more real as I can fit and secure the mast (in its sections), inside the boat. The inflatable itself is in pretty poor repair, so I will probably try and patch it up enough to use it as a rowing dealy, but I now have the time to look properly at the building of a sailboat.

My question is this, and don't forget it is a very naive question from a newbie. What information do I need to compile about the sailkit in order to match it to a boat plan, or is such a match very unlikely to be successful? Also, any reccomendations such as a type of boat or boat plan would be welcome. I currently own an Enterprise which I have a great deal of fun with. However, the thrill of sailing a boat that I had built, even if it didn't perform as well as the Enterprise, would be quite the kick.

Any and all help or advice welcome and appreciated.

DrewB.

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member