Pigmy Coho Wood Kit Sailyak (video)

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by driggers, Sep 9, 2010.

1. driggers

driggers New Member

Hi everyone,
    I'm just nearing the end of a project and being a sailing newbie, I made a video that I welcome your comments on what I've done, or suggestions for improvements.

It is essentially a summary of the rigging and an explanation of what I've done to modify it. I'm really excited to sail it!

This is my blog post about it

Just the YouTube Video

2. Petros

Petros Senior Member

Looks like fun. I would like to see it on the water.

A couple of thoughts: I would suggest doing everything you can to simplify the sailing rig, perhaps going to a fully battened sail with out a boom (boom less rig).

There other thought was your side "decks", I would make them larger so you have more room to move around, or take on passengers. Or perhaps a trampoline type fabric "deck".

Make sure your center/side board is strong enough to take the lateral forces from the sail, it has to counteract the side forces of the sail and if it is not sturdy it will fail when on a hard reach or pointing high to the wind. Same is true for the rudder, it takes a pretty heavy twisting action is the side load is down low on the blade of the rudder.

Good luck, hope to see it on the water soon.

3. driggers

driggers New Member

Thanks for your thoughts. The centerboard and it's attachment is quite sturdy, but the rudder worries me. It has the same attachment to the kayak as the original rudder.

4. driggers

driggers New Member

Well, here is the video of the maiden voyage. enjoy!

http://alejandroerickson.com/joomla...maiden-voyage-for-my-newly-rigged-pygmy-coho-

I'm throwing in the text from the blog too :p
    FINALLY!

Not much to say about this moment except that I've been dreaming about it for a year now and it's finally happened.