phd economics

Discussion in 'Education' started by gio_da, May 8, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gio_da

gio_da New Member

Hi!

I'd like to ask you what do you think about a phd in economics for a Naval Architect?

It could be a good opportunity for the future in your opinion?

Thanks

2. jehardiman

jehardiman Senior Member

Not good, you'll be over qualified in both fields...besides a PhD in econ and $9 will get you a latte at Starbucks.

3. gio_da

gio_da New Member

thanks! I don't understand your last consideration about the Latte.. :)

4. CatBuilder

CatBuilder Previous Member

I think he was saying a PhD in economics, plus 9 euro will get you a cafe at a Lavazza on the side of the Autostrade. :D

It wasn't a compliment about economics degrees.

However, there is no reason anyone can't become a NA. It is just a different path for you and you will forget the economics.

5. gio_da

gio_da New Member

I'm a Naval Architect, but I love mathematical modelling for decision making, so the question about the phd in economics..

6. CatBuilder

I read your post backwards. :D

I thought it said:

1) I am a PhD in economics
    2) I would like to become a Naval Architect.

Are you young? I ask because getting a PhD is a loooong process.

7. jehardiman

jehardiman Senior Member

Pretty much. In my career I've found that most of the work in any profesional field is done by bachelors and masters. Once you get to a PhD, there are few jobs and mostly in theoritical reasearch/think tanks or teaching. Naval Architecture and a PhD in Econ are so apart that the only place they mix is in a government-industry board or really high up in shipyard management (both of which you don't really need the engineering background for).

8. masalai

masalai masalai