Barge Stability

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by maritimeman, Mar 2, 2023.

1. maritimeman

maritimeman Junior Member

Hey all,

I'm new to boats but I am curious to better understand barge stability for a project I'm working on.

What makes a barge more stable? More specifically, I'm looking at standard flat-top ABS barges versus semi-submersible barges, and trying to understand which is better for stability.

I haven't been able to find too much information online, but is it accurate to say that the lower your center of gravity (like a semi-submersible barge that can lower it's Cg using ballast tanks underneath) the more stable it is? Or perhaps is it more a function of how submerged the vessel is? Which is to say, is a highly loaded ABS barge fairly stable? Or more broadly, is a highly loaded ABS barge more stable than an unloaded one?

Thanks in advance - if I'm omitting any key information please ask and I'll answer, just might not be aware of it.

2. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

The stability of a ship cannot be quantified, it is not defined with a number. There are a series of stability criteria, specific to each type of ship, and if a ship meets them, that ship "is stable." However, if you choose only one of these criteria, you will be able to compare which boat, among those of a certain sample, meets it more easily.
    In general, the stability criteria, and above all the initial stability, for a given displacement, are met more easily the lower the CoG is.

bajansailor and jehardiman like this.
  3. jehardiman

jehardiman Senior Member

First of all, welcome to the forum Maritime Man...

This is so win!

As stated there are too many types of "stability", each predicated on a different operational scenario, that Naval Architects adjust each vessel to met the necessary stability requirements for that vessels Statement of Requirements (SoR).